BY KATIE - MYGREENPOD, 25 March '16

Step into spring wearing some of our favourite sustainable styles

Khandiz Joni has worked as a hair and makeup artist for over 15 years, and became interested in natural makeup about a decade ago. She now uses an exclusively natural, conscious kit.

Sharing similar beliefs – and having championed luxury sustainable fashion for more than 10 years – fashion stylist and creative director Alice Wilby joined forces with Khandiz to create Novel Beings. It’s the first stylist artist agency that exclusively represents ‘conscious’ creatives in the fashion, beauty and advertising industries.

‘I was lucky enough to spend three glorious weeks back home in the sunshine over Christmas and New Year. As well as reflecting on 2015, I also got chance to look ahead to 2016 and think about how to improve on last year. My conclusion was that I needed to simplify. EVERYTHING.

It turns out that simplicity is an overarching theme for SS16 beauty, too – but it shouldn’t come at the expense of colour or personality!

One of the basic rules of (true) organic beauty is to simplify the ingredients used in the formulation. Skin&Tonic never uses more than seven ingredients and its range hits all the marks. Now’s the perfect time to have a good old spring clean and simplify your beauty routine.

You beau-tea

Pure Skin by Tea Detox offers a blend of carefully considered ingredients that target a range of skin ailments. Alternatively, make a big pot of organic Rooibos, which is rich in antioxidants and naturally caffeine free. Spritz the chilled tea over your face and body.

Flawless skin

I’ve recently discovered Madara’s Moon Flower Tinting Fluid, which adds the subtlest of glows to the skin while hydrating and protecting it with organic ingredients. My go-to brand for concealers is ZAO Makeup, as it has a full spectrum of cream foundations and concealers for every skin colour.

Make your statement

This season celebrates uniqueness: think ‘love thyself’ and ‘all my quirks make me beautiful’. What a perfect opportunity to wear your favourite lipstick colour (or even a wash of blue eyeshadow) with pride!

I love Absolution Rouge Theatre Organic Lipstick for a splash of vibrant matte colour; Vapour Organic Beauty in 414 Chere is a more subdued option. Kjaer Weis Lip Tint in Goddess is a buildable deep plum colour that’s flattered nearly every face I’ve used it on.

Choose one product and apply it to a well-nourished, foundation-less skin and you have SS16 beauty covered. Keep everything else simple!

KHANDIZ JONI
Green beauty makeup artist and co-founder of Novel Beings

Find out more at novelbeings.com.


Portfolio with an id of "novel-beings-gallery" is not defined.

Credits

Model Muna Mahamed, Premier Model Management
Photographer Rachel Manns
Styling Alice Wilby, Novel Beings
Hair and makeup Khandiz Joni, Novel Beings, using Zao Makeup & Less is More
Location The Observer Building, Hastings

Stokist Info

Matthew Calvin matthewcalvin.com/shop
SVP svpjewellery.com
Toolally toolally.com
Eileen Fisher eileenfisher.co.uk
Beautiful Soul beautiful-soul.co.uk
Lowie ilovelowie.com
Christopher Raeburn christopherraeburn.co.uk
90% ninetypercent.com
People Tree peopletree.co.uk
Finsk finsk.com
Beyond Skin beyondskin.co.uk
Veja the-acey.com
Ace & Jig the-acey.com